Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What do I need to start sketching?

Mike73

Its a bit strange because I have no interest in AP at all (been a keen photographer over the last 15 years both digitally and in trad darkroom) but instead my two favourite parts of the forum are the Observing and Sketches.

Really impressed with the sketches I've seen here

So just what pencils do I need to sketch my observation and where do you get yours (online?)

Anyone have any tips they can share?

Thanks

Mike

A pencil, piece of paper and a red torch is all i use,roughly sketching what i see at the eyepiece,noteing any particular features and making a final sketch when i finish observing when the image is fresh in my mind.

Mike. I'm much like you. A keen photographer but with no interest in AP. I'm no artist either, but I took up sketching what I see in the eyepiece early on and now I often observe just to sketch.

I use printed circle templates for DSOs and Society of Popular Astronomy templates for the planets. I have a set of graphite pencils 6B to 4H from a high street retailer, as well as some colour pencils going through tones of yellow and brown from an arts & crafts shop.

Then all I do is spend time observing and wait for some decent seeing. The more I look the more I tend to see, and then get it down in a sketch.

To get a softness in light and dark tones as they merge, I just use my fingers to smudge the graphite around a bit. Some people use blending stumps to get similar effects.

Hope that helps.

I do do AP, even though I declared last year that I had given up. :hello2:

Even so, I also sketch, mainly with B pencils and a few H's for outlines.

Main thing to remember. AP captures lots of subs, or webcams get thousands of frames. Just using a telescope and an eyepiece, you can do the same, well, your brain can, even if slightly out of focus.

Draw what you see and you will not go far wrong.