Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece recommendations for a 114mm

wired2moon

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with a not so new telescope (bought ~3 years ago but seldom used) and around £100 of budget. Now that I've moved away from the urban bright lights and into the sticks (to a house with more room) its much more viable to use the scope, so I've got it set up, collimated and am determined to start enjoying it! What I'm hoping to do now is optimise the scope's performance by getting some new eyepices - so looking for advice on the best eyepieces to buy for my particular scope (maybe one or two at this stage). I have a Skywatcher SkyHawk 1145PM, length = 500mm, aperture = 114mm. It came with a couple of "Super MA" eyepices (10mm and 25mm) which are OK. It also came with a barlow whose glass has cracked so I've just replaced that with TAL x2 (far superior anyway by all accounts). My interests at this point are a bit of everything - planetary and DSO.

I suppose my biggest conundrum is which planetary eyepiece to get as I'd like to see as much detail on the various planets as possible without the image becoming noticeably degraded - I understand my scope dimensions will be a limiting factor as will be the seeing. At this point my thinking is to get as 'close' to the target object (e.g Saturn) as said limitations will allow which almost certainly means I'll be barlowing a 5mm, 6mm, 7mm or 8mm eyepiece (to get x200, x166, x142 or x125). No idea which one is the most sensible choice though!! Because the high magnification would only be with the TAL barlow, the eyepiece will not be wasted under more limited seeing conditions. Models of interest so far are TMB Planetary II and BST Explorer ranges.