Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Evostar 100ED DS-Pro Outfit - Help???

Can anyone help? Im new to the world of Astronomy and am deciding on which scope to go for. I didnt realise that my equiptment selection was going to be so difficult!!!...but i feel its important i get it right now so that i dont have any regrets later on, down the line!! As i also have a keen interest in imaging i believe that the Skywatcher Evostar 100ED DS-Pro Outfit would certainly be capable of producing some good images.

The reason i say this, from what i understand and please correct me if im wrong... for observation purposes a large aperture is key for better viewing. But for imaging aperture size is less important due to the fact when shooting images and the extended length of each exposure (whatever that maybe) more light is captured thus producing a quality image. Furthermore the scope mentioned above is less likely to suffer from halos and coma distortions due to its achromatic and ED lenses.

However my question is....given it only has a 100mm aperture, what could i expect to see in terms of observation with the mk1 eyeball and to what detail and clarity? For instance will i be able to focus to a reasonable level of detail on the planets and some deep space objects??? or am i going to end up having to purchase 2 scopes? :)

Hello

The 100ED would not make a great imaging scope as it f/ratio is only f/9

Typically people tend to go for the smaller 80mm or larger 120mm in that range as they are f/7.5

The faster (smaller number) f/ratios allow you to capture more photons.

f/8 means you need double the exposure length than a scope at f/5.6

The 100ED is more of a visual scope.

firstly thanks for the advice.

Yes i see what you mean about the f numbers. As much as i'd like to go for the 120 dont think my budget will allow me, so i guess it will have to be the 80. So would the 80 be cabable of taking deep space images as well as planetry?