Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Do I need to collimate my scope?

Last weekend I took this photo of Jupiter via my 4.5" reflector and SPC880 webcam (using Registax 6 to stack it):

Z5y4u.png

I was quite happy with it but I've been told that I should be able to get better results and that my scope may need collimating.

I do have a Cheshire and I've read a bit about collimating. I read that if you focus on a star and defocus the spider should look symmetrical with the shadow of the secondary mirror in the centre. So a couple of nights ago I tried doing this by defocusing on Jupiter. I took a couple of single frame shots with my webcam and these are the results:

psuUq.png

mKTEa.png

What do you think? It looks fine to me. If it is out it's not by much and I don't want to make it any worse. It seems like a complicated process (as I don't have a mark on my primary mirror) and I've never done it before.

Reflectors operate as they imply by reflection.

If the error between the incident light and the mirror surface is (say) 1 degree, then the light reflects with a 2 degree error. It doubles.

Then this light heads up to the secondary with a 2 degree error where it reflects again and gets doubled. So a 4 degree error. This assumes that the secondary mirror is EXACTLY flat and at 45 degrees - will bet it isn't.

So if the whole lot is not aligned as good as you can get the errors build up very quick.

The effect of these errors is a poor image, either visual or imaged.

Now 1 degree is large on a scope but a 1 minute error (very very small) suffers the same, by the time you image or view it there is a 4 minute erros and a degraded image.

You will find that a professional observatory scope does not have a secondary, they put the imaging sensor there and so reduce errors by half.