Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

'Turn Left at Orion', or 'NightWatch'?

Hello,

I'm new to astronomy, and I've been looking at buying an astronomy book to get me going. The two I've been looking at are 'Turn Left at Orion' and 'NightWatch'. They both look good, and I'm not sure which to get, so I thought I'd ask if anyone has any idea which would be the better choice? (Of course, I could always just get both of them!)

Thanks!

I have both.

"Nightwatch" is a good general introduction to the hobby. After a year in I felt that I had outgrown it, but still find myself occasionally referring to the 20 Charts for observing suggestions and referring to it to refresh my memory as to the many invaluable tips and tidbits of information to be found between its covers.

"Turn Left at Orion" is a very different book. It is an observing list of celestial highlights throughout the year. It gives a sky view, finder view, and an eyepiece view (all diagrams) for each target. Included is a discussion of what you are observing and other nearby celestial targets. One of my fondest memories is the first time I observed the Double-Double. The view through the eyepiece was identical to the diagram in the book. A new and expanded edition is due for release in the very near future.

If I had to part with one though it would be "Nightwatch."

My suggestion is to buy the new edition of "Turn Left at Orion" and pick up a used copy of "Nightwatch."

I have both ''Nightwatch' provides a more general introduction to Astronomy and covers a wider variety of subjects but does include a nice gradual sky guide. TLAO is more geared towards seeing particular objects and provides a basic guide to star hopping.

Both are very good beginner books in my opinion. Get them both if you can.