First Dob Scope Advice

Hi SGL,

I have finally decided to bite the bullet and buy my first scope. I am definitely leaning more towards a Dob as I am told there optics are well worth the money. I am intending in viewing a wide range of objects (if I can find them) so would need a good all rounder scope. My budget is limited and my max would be the 200P FlexTube AUTO Dob at £455 from FLO (the cheaper the better really). I would need a portable scope as I have to travel to a dark site. so am thinking a 10" is my limit.

My question is which dob should I go for?

Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian - £271 (FLO)

Skywatcher Skyliner 250PX Dobsonian -£429 (FLO)

Skywatcher Skyliner 200P FlexTube AUTO -£455 (FLO)

I am drawn to the AUTO especially as I am a complete beginner and it has an override option for star hopping.

Any help would be very much appreciated!!!

I am drawn to the AUTO especially as I am a complete beginner and it has an override option for star hopping.

Maybe you know this already but there is a difference between the AUTO and GOTO versions. AUTO just tracks things you have found by star hopping. GOTO finds and tracks.

I have just ordered the 200P FlexTube AUTO. Had the small Heritage 130P before which was good for its size. I got quite annoyed at having to constantly nudge the scope when using high magnifications though, e.g. when watching planets. Hope things will work out better with the AUTO dob..

I've owned the 200p dob Skyliner for about a month and can recommend it - obviously I am a novice and rather biased, so bear that in mind!

In about 6 observing sessions I've found plenty of DSOs, Jupiter of course, Mars, a few Ms, NGCs, loads of double stars. I'm enjoying it! I'm actually disappointed when I CAN'T find objects, as that's a problem with me rather than the scope.