NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What is the visible benefit out of better eyepieces?

Hello.

Being an astronomy newbie, I have a very newbie question. Everywhere I read says that the stock eyepieces coming with my SW Mak127 are mediocre at best (for the 25 mm) and horrible for the worst (the stock 10 mm). I have been using them for a couple of weeks now and have been able to the stripes and moons of Jupiter, the andromeda galaxy as a faint smear and the orion nebula as a faint cloud surrouding some bright stars. I know I can't expect Hubble level views, but would better eyepieces really improve my viewing and if so, how? Would I see things clearer? Brighter? For now I am thinking that the main problem with my scope is the shaky alt/az tracking mount, but should I also be thinking more about improving the optics?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Rob

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=46.134476,6.213675

Sorry to hijack the thread, but i was thinking about buying one of those scopes. Is the mount really that bad? I take it from your comment the tracking movement isn't smooth, and while i don't intend on doing any imaging, shakey observing will get annoying really quickly... How is it if you don't use the tracking?

Rob, is there an astro group where you are?, you might get some idea of what suits you by looking through other members eyepieces to help you judge what works for you. I remember looking through some Badder Hyperions at SGL6 and decided to buy the whole set and I would now say that these are good eyepieces but even better ones are available.

I would really love to know what the benfits are too. Is it just small things like the hue around the outside or is there a dramatic difference. There are some dramatic differences in price anyway.:)

Could someone post up a picture of what something looks like in a cheap eyepiece and one at the high end? Is it like a picture taken from a disposable camera and an SLR?:)