Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

seben big boss 150/1400

kaz

Hi

i have just bought my first telescope. i am a beginner who has'nt got a clue

i have bought a seben big boss 150/1400. has anyone else got one of these and what are they like? its a rubbish night so i cant get to try it out.

thanks

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i have just bought my first telescope. i am a beginner who has'nt got a clue

Hi Kaz,

Welcome aboard; you have chosen a great time to take up astronomy; ask as many questions as you like... We like questions :clouds1:

i have bought a seben big boss 150/1400. has anyone else got one of these and what are they like?

The 6" aperture should get you off to a good start.

its a rubbish night so i cant get to try it out.

Thats the 'new scope curse'. It always happens :clouds1: :clouds1:

I look forward to reading your posts,

Steve

Thats a F/9 - thats going to be quite good on the planets.... I'm looking forward to your "I saw saturn last night" post already :clouds1:

As Steve says, ask away mate - we like questions.

A 6" scope is a good size for a first scope and should show you plenty and will have you begging for more after a year! Thats when I upgraded my 6" to the 8" scope that I have now.

Welcome to the fourm BTW :clouds1:

Ant

ok here we go ........ my first question.............

when im looking through the viewing scope (the one on the top of the tube, not the side one.

) everything is upside down any ideas what ive done wrong?

im scratching my head here.

thanks

Kaz,

Hi welcome to the forum.

Upside down is how the view is supposed to be through the finder (and through the scope). It takes an extra len system (which absorbs light) to put the image the right way up so most astronomical telescopes don't bother beacause it really doesn't matter which way is 'up' when you are looking at an object in space.

Gaz