Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Barnard's Star - ongoing project - frame 5

Just a bit of fun really: I've been doing this since 2007, and I'll go on as long as I'm able. One frame per year.

Just to show how Barnard's star is moving across the sky. At the rate it's going, ten arcseconds per year, it'll be some 50 years before it runs off the edge of my frame, so no danger of me ever completing the animation! :) If anyone younger wants to take up the project...... :D

And in about 11,700 years it will be at its closest to Earth, when it will be somewhere over the NCP I think.

Just for information the five frames are dated 14/08/07, 29/07/08, 16/09/09, 15/09/10 and 27/08/11. The last of these was 10x1 minutes and the previous frames more or less the same; alignment etc. with ImagesPlus, animation with AnimationShop (bundle with PaintshopPro).

If anyone wonders why the star reddens between frames 2 and 3, well, that's when I had the camera modded! Barnard is a red dwarf so it ought to appear red. I suppose I could artificially tweak the hue of frames 1 and 2 but I haven't bothered.

post-14835-133877659216_thumb.gif

Very nice, ive never see this before, and i love you commitment.... Why is it moving?

Thankd

Hi Keiron,

All, or most stars in our galaxy, or any other for that matter, have an independent motion through space. This motion is usually only detected by sophisticated means. Barnards star, is close enough to us, for it's proper motion to be seen. Not as you are observing it of course, but by the method used by the OP.