Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another newbie - Saturn virgin

richmace

Hi,

My name is Richard Mace, and I live in Timsbury, England. I am 33 years of age.

I have been fascinated by space and the stars since I was a boy, but have never followed this up enough to be called a "hobby".

A few months ago I got a secondhand pair of 10x50 binoculars, and armed with the Kstars linux planetarium program, I started learning the major constellations.

My first success was viewing the Maia Nebula through my binoculars - fantastic!

A couple of weeks ago I decided to buy a budget refractor telescope (I often flip between interests - being a classic aeries - so could not spend much money). My telescope is a 50mm apeture, 600mm focal length refractor. I have 6mm and 20mm eyepieces and a 3x Barlow.

I had similar problems to flapjackboy the first night I used my telescope (2 nights ago). lol. If I would have read his post then it would have saved me a lot of time, but where would the fun be in doing things easily :lol:.

Was slightly miffed that I could not see a clear image of the moon at midnight, but that was solved during some daytime testing, by adding the 90 degree prism and adjusting the finder telescope, and experimenting with the 2 eyepieces.

The last 2 nights have been spent watching Venus and Saturn (very predictable). My back garden has a large tree to the west, so Venus is difficult to get a clear shot at. Luckily the views to the south are good.

I managed with my extremely basic telescope to get an sighting of Saturn, with the rings clearly visible (as a thin, solid ring). This is a major acheivement for me :D.

It was quite funny, the first time I saw Saturn, I kept going to get my wife so that she could view Saturn, but each time there was nothing there by the time that she looked. I went to be that night puzzled and frustrated.