Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Out imaging still... Anyone else still up enjoying the clear skies?

rocketandroll

Wow, what a night!!

I've not been out for almost two months, but tonight's been worth the wait.

I've shot nearly two hours of data on M31 through the 200mm lens which looks looooovely :-)

Also saw Jupiter for the first time through my ED80 whilst the camera was snapping away. Cloud bands, four moons and all... Which was more than I was expecting through an 80mm scope!

Tonight is the first night ever I can see the Milkyway from my horribly light pouted site.

I'm just running some darks now... then off home to bed a very happy bunny.

Anyone else got these unusually clear skies?

Ben

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Hi all (or anyone who's still out there?!), Newbie here!

Only been stargazing for the last month or so, and I've just seen Jupiter for the first time through a telescope!! What a moment that was, just surreal! Saw 4 moons and some cloud belts - I'm using a 1996 TAL 1 with a 3x Barlow & 15mm Kellner. Does anyone know if there's a satelite flight path just in front of Jupiter at about this time? It's just that when I first saw it (with a 25mm Plossl & no Barlow) a white continuous light arced quickly through my FOV - it wasn't a plane & I don't think it was a meteorite, not that I could tell at the moment anyway! LOL!

So, that's now another amazing sight I can add to the first time I saw Saturn. I haven't even tried any DSO's yet!

Great to have clear skies, I'm still up! Just taken flats and I'm now stacking 3 hours of data :)

Hi, welcome to SGL paf! Seeing Jupiter for the first time really is amazing. That does sound like a satellite, there's a lot of them up there! Heavens-Above Home Page can tell you where the brightest ones will be.

Just come inside. M31, Pleiadies, Jupiter and Mizar - small potatoes really :)

Quite a few meteorites about tonight.