Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

When does it get dark at a sensible time?

stan26

Hi folks,

looking foward to getting back to imaging DSO's again. This is my first year in imaging and astronomy in gerneral for that matter. I have had to give up over the last couple of months, my family/work life can't cope with the silly late summer sessions. Just wondering when does it start getting dark enough for imaging at a reasonable time again, i.e lets say 9:00 - 9:30pm start time...? Is there a guide on the net with regards to astro imaging about this? Out of interest what time are you guys starting at the moment?

cheers

Stan:)

I'm interested in knowing this too. Lately its not getting dark till about 11:30 - midnight which is a real late start for me too with working a 8:30am - 5pm job. Winter observing is certainly better for start times with me! Rushing straight home to get the telescope out ( a similar rushing home that I used to do from school to watch cartoons haha ).

If I wasnt doing a distance learning observation course I dont think my telescope would have come out of the cupboard over the summer months.

Thinking about it, when I was camping last weekend in shropshire it seemed to get dark enough to see the milkyway etc by about 11pm i think. Anything northeast to south east was pretty dark by then. But if you wanted to observe anything north through west was out until past midnight - 1am.

anyway, sorry about the waffle, im curious to know if there are charts etc for sunset / night times through the year

Paul''

If you download Skyviewcafe planetarium - once it's configured for your location click on the "Insolation" tab - it will give you light/dark times for the full year. It's also got lots of other natty little features you'll enjoy - I like watching the shadow travelling across the globe by incrementing ten mins at a time using the arrow keys :)

http://www.skyviewcafe.com/skyview.php?version=4