Taking the telescope plunge

Hello everybody. I've been following the forums for quite a while and am hoping somebody will be able to offer a newbie some advice on scopes.

I'm still quite new to astronomy but over the past year, I have been using a pair of binoculars and a celestron 70 travel scope in conjunction with a planisphere and the little gems "Stars" book to learn my way around the sky. I have had a lot of fun doing this and think this is a hobby I want to continue and so am looking into getting myself a telescope. My budget is around £400 but could be pushed to £500 if I treat my wife to dinner!

From my time under the sky so far, I think I'm more drawn to searching out DSO and I quite like the idea of working my way through the Messier list of objects whilst also having the odd casual look at planets and the stars. This has led me to consider either the Skywatcher 150 or the Skywatcher 200. Both fall within my budget but if I were to get the 150 then I'd still have a bit of money left over for accessories such as motor drives and additional eyepieces. On the otherhand I know that the larger apperture of the 200 would make it easier to view DSOs but I'm slightly concerned about the size because I may want to take travel with the scope and I'm not convinced I would have the storage space for it.

I guess my main question is would the 6" Skywatcher 150 provide me with enough aperture to run through the Messier list and others to hunt out DSOs?

Any advice very welcome indeed

Probably lots of people on here can give you some good adviceas to scope choice but I would have thought apeture and travel are a bit mutually exclusive tbh,maybe a skyliner 200 for dso's and something from the startravel range fro travel?

For DSO spotting you really need as much aperture as you can get. As most of it is done at low to medium power, tracking mounts etc are lower priority it seems to me so you can look at dobsonian mounts which means more aperture per £.