Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which DSO's

Been a complete newb I was wondering what would be the best DSO's for me to get up n running. For viewability and ease of find. I started hunting the other night but started to get a bit frustrated and I think I need pointing in the right direction to start- not literally.

Clear skies:iamwithstupid:

M57, the ring nebula is another object that is quite easy to find. It's midway between the lower bright pair of stars in Lyra. It will appear in you low power EP as quite a small smoky disc and with increased magnification you should be able to make out that it is a ring.

Hi Dave,

To help you find your way around download Stellarium a really useful free planatarium program.

Try not to get frustrated, just take your time and pick a couple of objects each time you observe and you will soon get the hang of it.

Good luck, keep us posted on how you get on.

Cheers for the heads up will let know how it goes should be out there tomorrow night. And Saturn with my new TMB.

Clear skies one and all. Not too long till the solstice then the darkness shall start to creep back in.

Hi Dave

Please ignore premature sending of post a minute ago...I'm relatively new to this as well (late Jan 2011). The previous suggestions are good, M13 and M57 are lovely. I was amazed at M57. M11 is also great. A couple of months ago I struggled to find the objects. Now I have managed to get to almost 60 Messiers. Some nights i could discover 5, 6 or even 7 new ones (pretty long sessions at times, though not recently with short, bright nights!). The latest boon to help me is a Telrad finder and some Telrad charts. With the chart, the finder and a low power eyepiece I have managed to locate many with relative ease. One recent discovery which I find absolutely beautiful is M8.....lovely.

Have fun, thats the most important thing, especially in the early days when you've managed to locate a DSO or two during an evening, its very exciting.