Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another hollow concrete block pier

iamjulian

After spending far too long thinking about it, I have sort of decided how to start building my pier. I am a fan of low tech solutions and although I could get permission to sink half a tonne of concrete into the back garden, I don't see the point.

For a good while I planned to copy the excellent brick pier someone posted here (apologies,forget who it was). Then I saw the hollow concrete block pier they have up at Todmorden and knew that was for me.

Picked up a couple of blocks from a farm in deepest Wales and am planning to attach them to a big paving slab. Now my questions for you knowledgeable lot :)

From what I read, I should just be able to glue block to block and block to paving slab. I also read some of these trade glues can be stronger than the concrete itself. Sound reasonable? Bolting them together was the other option.

Second problem is how to attach the telescope head. The top bit of concrete is 5cm thick so I cannot see an easy way to bolt the head and top bit of tripod (minus legs) with the existing bolt. Although it would save me messing about with pier plates and pucks and all that.

Any ideas or inspiration very welcome!

Thankspost-3604-0-46040000-1435952818_thumb.jp

Edited by iamjulian

It shouldn't be too hard to drill the block, your original center bolt probably wont be long enough but you can get a longer one from a DIY store. not sure what mount you are using but if it is a Skywatcher its probable an M10 bolt.

What mount are you planning to attach?

Sorry yes, HEQ5. The existing bolt is thin at the top, then widens out and is only part threaded, I just assumed a standard bolt would not be suitable. That would simplify the task.