Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Portable powerpack for NEQ6?

Hi guys, I've had my NEQ6 for a week or so now (not been able to use it obviously(!)) but I have spent that time trying to research portable power supplies for it, and I'm still stuck on what a good solution is!

Can anyone just simply link me to something that will work, perhaps isn't TOO heavy (god knows the mount and 250px are heavy enough to be lugging up the hill!!) . I know its meant to be 12vdc 2amp+ but are the car jump starters the best bet or are there other solutions? (i wont be able to run a long cable so mains power isn't really an option).

Thanks!

I am new to astronomy but know a bit a batteries.

The 'power pack' things sold by Maplins etc are completely the wrong thing for what you want. They are designed for high CCA (Cold cranking Amps) for a short period of time. What you need is low amps for a long period of time.

Used for astronomy a 'power pack' will not last long as they are not designed for deep discharge.

The best solution is a small 'leisure' battery - one designed for small amounts of power over a long time and capable of being repeatedly deep discharged.

Something like this - http://www.batterytrader.com/electric-leisure-buddy-wheelchair-batteries-p-27431.html?gclid=CKrD_crjvLwCFZHJtAodO3YA6g&currency=GBP would power an EQ6 for about 10 hours depending how much slewing you do

Or http://www.tayna.co.uk/Numax-SLC26-12-Sealed-Lead-Acid-Battery-P221.html would give you 20 hours again dependant on how much slewing, how well balanced, ambient temperature etc

HTH