Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter 11.12.13 DSLR

mosster

Good Evening

Here's my first attempt at planetary imaging. Just recently purchased a CG5 and Skymax 127 from FLO (cheers guys) so thought would have a quick go with the 1100D with jupiter.

Anyway, I recorded 2000 frames using BackyardEOS and stacked around 800-1000 of these. I've been trying to get to grips and playing around with both registax 5 & 6 so may have been more or less stacked.

Nothing compared with the other users on here, however as it's my first attempt thought would share and hopefully gain some comments to help improve along the journey.

Thanks for looking.

post-29258-0-92385500-1387580897_thumb.j

post-29258-0-34192200-1387580899_thumb.j

post-29258-0-51045600-1387581202_thumb.j

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just an idea, if you load your images into registax the use the selection tool to select best 50 to 100 over a 2 minute time frame then restack.

Logic:

Seeing varies so images clear and distort every 25th of second. So you will have clear and blurred images in your stack.

Secondly Jupiter rotation is fast so you need to choose a 2/3 minute window for selected frames to reduce rotational blurring

This has helped me clean worse images than this.

Just an idea, if you load your images into registax the use the selection tool to select best 50 to 100 over a 2 minute time frame then restack.

Logic:

Seeing varies so images clear and distort every 25th of second. So you will have clear and blurred images in your stack.

Secondly Jupiter rotation is fast so you need to choose a 2/3 minute window for selected frames to reduce rotational blurring

This has helped me clean worse images than this.

I'll give this a go over the weekend and see if I can improve what I've recorded and see the outcome. Cheers for the advice.

Looks really nice considering this is with a DSLR! Think you should be very happy with this :)

Sent from Xperia Z1 using Tapatalk.