NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Quattro f4 Imaging Newtonian telescopes

Hi,

Thanks Ben and Mike, great to know someone else is doing it. I have read about extending the shaft, keeps the overall weight down so I will be doing that in any case. I am an electronics engineer by trade, but have quite a bit of experience with control, mechanical and system design, so I have some understanding of weight, torque and the various reactions of movement.

Regarding a guide scope, I have no experience of guiding, I have an ST80, but was thinking of having a go with a 50mm finder first. As regards guide camera I could use an SPC900 or try the DFK31, both are fairly light.

As regards wind, at the moment the dob is fairly useless in any wind at all, so I suppose that the HEQ5 might be slightly better, but if it is windy (and my back garden is fairly sheltered) it's a TV and glass of wine night instead.

I do have a summerhouse, which I have put the dob in before when it's windy, but that seriously limits my field of view and polar alignment will be all but impossible.

Thanks again for the tips, I am looking forward to having a go with an EQ mount, I think it will have to be after Xmas now, I have no time to buy or assembly anything before.

• 1 month later...
  • Replies 475
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm planning on buying the 200/800 Quattro and have read this thread - it's a great read. Still I'd like to ask a few things.

First, I have an EQ5 mount complete with a Synscan GoTo upgrade. Will the Quattro telescope dovetail fit into EQ5 (does it have a standard size and dimensions)?