Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

how do i find gallaxies?

jabberwocky

im completely new to stargazing and im sill getting to grips with my SW explorer 130m, but id love to see my first gallaxy, but how do i find them and will i know what im looking at when i do? with my scope and and a 25mm and 10mm eyepiece what will an easy to find gallaxy look like? will it be obviously a gallaxy or just look like a star?

i realise my scope is a bit small and im not going to see a huge amount of detail but knowing what im likely to see will help me recognise what im looking for.

oh and which is the easiest to find and see wih my size scope?

Stellarium will show you where to look, your 25mm will allow the better view, dark adapted eyes and minimal light pollution will offer you your best chance of noticing them. It takes time to get your eye in tune with seeing the faint fuzzy blobs. The hardest part I find, is getting the scope pointing in the right place. Star hopping using a Telrad finder has helped me find M101 and the Leo Triplet. Patience isn't available on ebay (yet)!

Hi jabberwocky,

A second here for Stellarium. FOC on a windows machine or iPod touch/iPhone or a few pence on an iPad. There are others, but Stellarium is easy to use and will help you get around the sky.

Also meeting up with someone for help is a good idea. Drop Dark Knight a pm as he is only in Westbury so not that far from you. He has been very helpful to me along with Steph his Wife.

Best regards

Chris

If you can't take your pc/laptop out in the field then there's several things you can use. A planisphere, Sky at Night or Astronomy Now magazines (center page object pullouts), or a good book with finding instructions like Turn Left at Orion, or Illustrated Guide to Astronomical Wonders.