SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Oooooh! What is wrong???

This is from the Megrez 90 that I happily displayed last night here. I wonder what the heck is wrong in the optical path.

Any ideas?

Canon EOS1000D an a WO Flat 4 on a Megrez 90. Nothing else.

I will try tonight without the flattener!

m82_m90-1.jpg

If this happens with every pic you take then take some darks which will hopefully counteract this effect.

You mean flats?? :hello2:

I think this is more likley a problem with the flattener. I am no expert and have never used one yet. But I think I remember reading a similar problem and it being down to the flattener not being quite a snug fit or the camera etc.

So yes try without and if it solves it then when you do put it back on just make sure there is no slop between things.

BTW Nice image all the same! :hello2:

Michael

You mean flats?? :D

I think he meant darks. It may be amp glow. I don't use Canon, so I don't know what it looks like on a 1000D. It also depends on temperature and exposure time. On my D50 amp glow becomes a problem for exposure more than a few minutes and appears as pink light bleeding in from the edges of the frame. Darks will remove it along with hot pixels.

The star shapes could be caused by the objective spacer tabs sitting into the light path.

How many subs did you use? Total exposure time?

Flats and darks will clean things up a bit and allow you to better determine what other issues you may have.

The way the light fills in from one side is strange. Did you have dew perhaps? I've seen a thin film of dew scatter light and give something of this effect.

Do you have any off-axis light problems? Street lights, or otherwise? Some open tube designs can have that problem - a cheap shroud of black cloth held on with velcro will help if that is the case.