NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New DSLR which one?

Fenriz

Hi guys

Im new to all this AP stuff and looking for a new DSLR camera to go with the Skywatcher Explorer 200P I'll be ordering this week, currently looking at either the Canon 1000D or the Nikon D3100, both at the same price.

Any suggestions?

Thanx

If you think that you might want to mod it in future for improved HA response then the Canon 1000D is a better bet... Also supported by yoddah's superb APT...

www.astroplace.net - APT - Introduction

You can also get clip in LP filters for the Canons...

I have one clicking away outside at the moment.. well I did last time I looked...

Billy...

Billy do you have a link to the clip in LP filters for the Canon?

I have one for the scope i use to image but sometimes i like to just use the Canon on a tripod.

Thanks.

Sorry to hijack thread.

you might want to pick up a programable timer remote - or are you going to use it from a computer... The EOS utils that coem with the cmaera will allow remote shooting but APT gives you a lot more flexibility...

Have you ordered the bits to connect it to the scope... ? and a couple of SDHC cards... The Canon battery should be good for 3-4 hours of exposure... so two batteries will keep you going all night as they charge faster than the camera discharges them...

Best of luck for clear skies and most of all "have fun"...

Billy...

EOS utils that comes with the camera is ok for most uses, but not for astro. I've tried, and it's a nightmare as it only accepts 30s subs, unless you use bulb and manually click start and stop. Can't program it to take like 60x 500s subs and go in for the night and let it work, for example.

Well, not fully true i guess, as you Can do like i did and download a free mouseclicking timer, set it to click at the desired times, and place it over the camera button in EOS utils wich is then set at bulb, but hey.. lol..