NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

numpty newbie looking for saturn

Apologies all for a stupid question, but I'm a novice, and I know Saturn is visible right now, but I don't know where to look for it!

I'm learning my way around the skies, and can identify most of the constellations, so if someone could point me in the right direction with a few markers??

I've only got an old pair of Bins, so not expecting to see much....but I'd like to be able to point and say..'that's where it is!!'

Cheers!

Vicky.

Hello

At the moment Saturn is rising in the east just after 8pm but is probably best viewed later in the night when it's at it's highest between 1-2am in the south

I believe it's in the constellation of Virgo but could be wrong on that

Hi Vicky

I asked the same question last week and don't worry thinking it' a stupid question! You'll find it in the Easterly sky around 10pmish,(that's when I viewed the other night for the 1st time anyway). I know that it peeps over the Eastern Horizon tonight about 2010ish but the advice I got was that optimal viewing was around 0200ish being roughly its highest point to view. It's a sort of yellow/orange coloured bright dot that if you look to the East you can pick out with the naked eye.

If you have access to a computer, download Stellarium which is a free software and is very easy to use. It will show you exactly where it is in the sky at whatever time you choose to view.

Good luck finding it, it's awesome..........(hope I've given you the correct info as I'm a newbie too haha!).

Sky chart copied from "Heavens Above" for 23:30 tonight:

wholeskychart.ashx?lat=51.754&lng=-1.254&size=500&SL=1&SN=1&BW=0&time=55630.97917