Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

collimation????? again!!!

Morning everyone....took delivery of my relevation deluxe collimator Thursday then spent around 2 hrs worrying whether the laser point from the collimator should actually be a rectangular marker as it is, or should be circular. Now i know i'm a relative newbie and i've looked at some demonstrations of collimation from links on here that people have posted and i'm certain my laser should be circular. I'm thinking i need to send this collimator back as it didn't come with instructions either!!! Hope some1 can help!! I'm also considering just collimating it indoors then fine tuning it by star collimation when i get chance to view!! Thanks guys and happy gazing:icon_salut:

Here's the instructions:

Harrison Telescopes Ltd Revelation Deluxe Laser Collimator

I had that one and it was naff - check the cap at the end that switches it on/off and changes the dot size (which should be a circular dot). If the cap is loose send it back cos it's faulty and so flimsy it will break at the slightest knock.

If the cap is firm and functional you may have got a good one. :)

The cap on the end of mine just holds the laser in place inside the collimator. Can't actually change the shape or size of the laser marker so it's constantly a rectangular marker. I'm thinking of sending it back and opting for maybe a cheshire instead?:)

Here's the instructions:

Harrison Telescopes Ltd Revelation Deluxe Laser Collimator

I had that one and it was naff - check the cap at the end that switches it on/off and changes the dot size (which should be a circular dot). If the cap is loose send it back cos it's faulty and so flimsy it will break at the slightest knock.

If the cap is firm and functional you may have got a good one. :)

Hah! i had the skywatcher one from flo with that very problem. Martin was good enough to let me upgrade to the baader version instead at no extra charge.

they're a good bunch