NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

1st effort at the Rosette

madjohn

Hi folks,

Haven't posted for a while because of the blumming awful weather (is it ever going to settle down and clear?:)) but weekend before last I managed a few hours between the haze.

I've never tried the Rosette before, its quite a large target but my 80mm Orion framed it nicely.

Been struggling with vignetting with this one, I may have to take Steve Steppenwolfs advice:icon_salut: and buy a electroluminescent panel to start doing flats with. (never done flats before with any of my previous images)

46 X 5 min subs at ISO 800, darks and bias subtracted.

Orion ED80 with my WO 0.8 FR, modded Canon 450D, Skywatcher light pollution filter.

I'm having a much easier time of processing my images using the skywatcher filter instead of my EOS clip one, any body else notice this?

If the skies clear soon I may add some more subs to try to get the image smoother, but pleased with this effort as I'm using a DSLR instead of a CCD.

John

post-15189-13387751914_thumb.jpg

Thats a great shot good star colour...does look like you were still suffering with the mist....a good flat is essential, but depending on how bad the vignetting is you may still have problems in the corners, the key is a well exposed flat with plenty of signal in the corners.

Very nice image. I did my first flats by just pointing the scope at a plain painted wall during the day. They helped reduce the vignetting effect in the corners. I then tried a 'white' computer screen (just created a white background in paint), which also worked. Finally I made an electroluminescent screen which I now use outdoors during a session.

Thanks for all the abvice guys, looks like a flats panel is in the offing!

John

Good job on the Rosette ... get a EL panel form fleabay, I bought an A4 one for Taiwan for £30 delivered... works a treat.:)

If that's your first, then you have a good future in Imaging.

That's a very fine result.