Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What do you do when your surounded by street lights?

DrGui

Hello all. I feel rather intimidated by all the incredible photos I've seen here today. You see I'm new to all this new technology. I recently purchased a new scope and have begun to take my first feeble steps into the brave new world of Digital Astrophotography. For me, the biggest challenge is overcoming our city lights. Low pressure sodium vapor lights EVERYWHERE! I've been reading in various literature that to overcome this problem I need to maximize my gain and minimize my exposure time. Here is my first result. This photo is a stacked using 52-2 second exposures using my Canon Rebel XSi camera with an old Bushnel 400mm telephoto lens, piggybacked on my CGEM 800 (unguided). I used an intervalometer to control the exposures. (I screwed up on my format though, I forgot to set the format back to raw, so the image suffered from JPEG compression artifacts )

Anyone have any advise for this digital newbie??

post-23491-133877517045_thumb.jpg

Great start.

Try an Eos clip filter (CLS filter). It works well with low pressure sodium lights. There should be plenty of room behind the 400mm lens. It slots inside the camera body in front of the mirror. You should be able to stretch to 1-2 mins unguided.

I too have 2 orange monsters irradiating my garden. A light pollution filter is pretty much essential and I have one by Skywatcher, which fits on the end of my 2" coma corrector when I use a Nikon, and an Astronomics CLS clip filter for my 1000D. However, the biggest improvement was using a large tripod and stand to erect a piece of cardboard to eliminate light getting into the scope end, even with a big dewshield fitted. Assume you'll be fitting the camera direct to the scope at some stage!

David