Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginner looking for some help

Hi there

I have always had an interest in the sky at night ( forgive the pun)

I am happy I found this site.

My wife and I would like to take star gazing a little more serious than our current binoculars and would appreciate some help with the selection of a telescope

I guess we have a budget of up to about £500 , can we get something suitable for that kind of budget?, there seems to be a huge amount of telescopes. I imagine that the more compact compound telescopes would be good for us. We would also like to use it for photography and have Nikon D300

We would also like to join a local club or society, does anyone know of such a club in the Salisbury area or perhaps Baisngstoke. Whilst we are enthusiastic we have very little knowledge and as such would need a club who are able to cater for beginners

Sorry for all the questions and thanks in advance

Hi Kluson and welcome to SGL.

I am fairly new to astronomy myself (August 2010) and I bided my time and looked around before choosing a telescope for Christmas.

One of the first things you will be told to ask yourself is "what do I want to use it for?" and where?

For me I needed something portable (I have no back garden to talk about and lots of light pollution) so having read lots of reviews I went for one of the compact and portable Maksutov-Cassegrain from Skywatcher, the Skymax 127.

There are people on here with much more experience than me but (and I know it sounds obvious) if I have any advice it would be bide your time and shop around. I used binoculars and a planisphere for 4 months and taught myself so much with plenty of "wow" moments along the way.

Happy 2011.

I'd suggest you find your local society but make sure you trawl through the beginners section of SGL as there are loads of new people to the hobby there looking for scope advice.