NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First objects to look at

Hello there!

First post here. I've been reading threads and articles since I joined...great stuff. I've learned a lot.

I was wondering if anyone has compiled of list of highlights to look for with a telescope for someone new to the hobby?

In other words, Ialist of fairly easy to locate and rewarding sights to get a taste of the star gazing hobby.

thanks ahead of time!

hello there are many things to look at. i am new to this myself and im still learning "turn left at orion" is a great book to read. as for what to look at you have the messier objects,the planets jupiter is about in the everning and venus in the morning. there is so much to look at and im sure someone with a lot more knoledge than me will be along soon.

if you dont have it yet try downloading stellarium its a great little program for whats about in the sky and its free :)

as for me my first non planet to view will be m42 the orion nebular when i get a clear night. hope this helps a little but like i said im still new to this

happy hunting. star

hi neeklaus.

the first and most obvious thing to start off on is the moon. but you will have to be up early in the morning to see it.

the second would be jupiter, a nice bright object in the southern sky

the third would be orion and the orion nebula

the fouth would be m45 in taurus (the seven sisters)

the fith would be venus, an early morning object in the south east sky (the moon is not to far away to see them both )

i would advise not to image the sun without due care and safety

alas for me thats about it (two wacking stupid street lights out side my back garden spoils the seeing for any thing fainter)

I got a telescope for Christmas and so far I've seen a very small Saturn (I could see its rings!) and the Moon. I tried looking at Jupiter but it was just a big white ball, no detail whatsoever.