NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Does anyone know if Bushnell is a good brand for telescope?

I wanted to buy a Skywatcher Heritage P130 Flex Tube, but I couldn't find anyone at amazon or any american stores. I found a Bushnell Ares 5" though for almost the same price (US$ 230). The Bushnell comes with the same stuff that come with the Skywatcher... 2 plossl EP 25mm and 5mm and a Red Dot Finder.

Both are practically the SAME scope...

This is the link for both:

Bushnell ARES 5" Compact Truss Tube Dobsonian Telescope OpticsPlanet Edition FREE S&H 785000. Bushnell DOB Telescopes, Bushnell Telescopes. (bushnell)

TELESCOPE SUPPLIERS - SKY-WATCHER TELESCOPE

(heritage)

I really want to buy the Bushnell, but I'm afraid that it is just a poor copy of the good skywatcher!... please, help me through this decision!

Thanks in advance =)

I have no experience with the above scope, however my first scope (a christmas present last year) was a Bushnell Skytour on an Alt/Az mount. It was of very poor quality, the EP's supplied were 12.5, 8 and 4mm which were pretty useless as was the Barlow. The tripod was very light thin aluminium so any movement took an age for the vibrations to die down. The RDF also stopped working after a few weeks.

As I said I don't know about the above scope but I don't think Bushnell are very well regarded when it comes to there scopes. I personally would hold out until you can find the Skywatcher or another decent brand.

Bushnell are another one of those companies who buy in gear from manufacturers, as they purchase large quantites they can get their brand put on at the factory.

I've seen KUOC binos (like revelation/Mystery/Celestron etc) branded as Bushnell and they seemed to be the same quality. However, as with so many things, the proof of the pudding etc.

It could be that the scope is decent enough, but let down by poor quality EPs and a really cheapo tripod.