Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First scope - skywatcher 200p or 250px

Hello all,

this is my first post! I would like to apologise if I have posted in the wrong section, as I generally do this in every forum the first time as I am completely useless.

I am very new to the world of telescopes but I have been doing a bit of research. I'm looking to purchase a dob and the skywatcher series seems to be ticking all the boxes for me.

However! I'm looking for something that I can grow into. I'm very keen on planetary observing but DSO's really appeal to me.

I have my eye on the skywatcher dob 200p and the 250px.

the 250 offers around 56% more light gathering then the 200.

Would this be worth it? or would I be out of my depth with a 250? would the 250 require more work in regards to Collimation?

Please keep in mind that I want to grow into this scope and that I do not want to upgrade any time soon after purchasing.

I would appreciate any advice that you are willing to offer!

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The 250 is a bit bulkier and heavier but still quite manageable. Collimation adjustment is needed with all newtonians from time to time, the 250 is no exception to this. The extra aperture will give you more deep sky potential and is well worthwhile - it will postpone an outbreak of "aperture fever" that much longer !.

Welcome to SGL, location wise its in the best place.