NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Any recommendations for Dobson setting circles

Hi all

I am a beginner to the dobo scene and have seen some threads about setting circles and wondered if they are any good? From what I can make out there are print out and tape on sort and the make your life so much more easier digital type.

Would one of those GPS handhelds be any good (that ramblers use) for RA and the digital angle finder for DEC

Am I right in saying either method requires a PDA or laptop to get up to the minute bearings. If so are there recommended PDA's for such a perpose. I'm no banker so I wouldn't need the old filofax type PDA just one that I can drop Stellerium on.

Any and all advice would be of help as I have no idea :)

HAS ANYONE GOT PICTURES TO SEE HOW THE SETTING CIRCLES WORK ON DOBS AS I'M SURE IT WILL BE A GREAT HELP TO OTHER BEGINNERS TOO!

I use a lap top for alt az positions. A degree circle handmade for the base and a wixey for altitude.

Mines pretty accurate, dead quick and places object in FOV in my 28 Uwan.

Quicker then most go-to's.

Just found a good link detailing improvements to Sky-watcher Dobs Sky-Watcher SkyLiner 200 Dobsonian Telescope

Again I take it some form of up to date positions are required.

Thanks for posting the link, very useful - Currently I have a Silva compass on my base & a Wixley on my OTA, I can see myself spending the weekend of modding my Skyliner!

http://stargazerslounge.com/diy-astronomer/80995-diy-dob-setting-circles.html

I plan to do something similar, but try using glow in the dark ink as well.

I'm not sure how I will measure out the tape correctly though, seems difficult?

Measure the base circumferunce and divide by 360 and handmark it all out with accuracy, easier said than done

• 2 weeks later...
Just found a good link detailing improvements to Sky-watcher Dobs Sky-Watcher SkyLiner 200 Dobsonian Telescope