Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

need help with my Skywatcher heritage 130p

i've been having problems observing anything other than the moon. i couldn't find any planets so i studied a skychart and made sure i was pointing my scope at mars but all i could see was a reddish dot. i tried my 25mm ep and my 10mm ep that came with it but it was still just a dot so i attached an erecting lens which adds 50% mag and still it was a dot. am i doing something wrong? or do i need to get a smaller mm lens and a barlow?

any help will be very, very appreciated, it's really annoying and i really want to see something out there other than the moon.

Hello,

You have made a decent choice for a first scope and i have had first hand experience with one. Mars and Saturn are to low in the horizon to see now, mars is also a long way away from the earth. Jupiter is just starting to come up at a good time now and is very bright as easy to see. you should see it in the east early evening if you are lucky enough to have a clear east view. M13, M31 and m57 are all good targets in this scope.

You will get a decent view of Jupiter in the 10mm but i think the 25mm is a lot better and you might find using the 25mm with the x2 Barlow better than the 10mm. the 25mm will also be ok for some deep sky targets.

if you need some help with navigating the stars a program called Stellarium is great.

Best of luck mate

Don't get downhearted. Mars as Indicated, is not a good target for any scope now, it is much too distant, and appears starlike.

Lots of other targets for your telescope, Jupiter is an obvious one, and don't dismiss the moon, which is a wonderful target for your scope. It is about full though, and detail is not easy to see. Better when the moon has moved further east in its orbit around the earth.

Be prepared to wait up late though.:)