Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Finding M31 (not the Motorway)

I'm fairly new to stargazing but tonight was clear enough to get good views of the moon etc.

I have always wanted to see Andromeda. It seems like it should be easy. Find Cassiopea then drop down a bit. (I should explain I am observing from a Town Centre site with a 120mm refractor.) I find Cassiopea with naked eye observation (with spectacles), line up the scope, look through the finder scope - where is Cassiopea? I now have about 25 stars instead of the 5ish of Cassiopea. Look through the main scope I now have maybe 50 stars. Move down a bit, lots of stars, nothing fuzzy. Look back with the naked eye and I can see none of the stars I am seeing in the scope. They are not on my Planisphere either.

Is this a common problem? Does anyone have a simple answer?

I do have a much smaller Celestron scope with "go to" (I got it for £30 in a camera shop - they had lost the battery carrier and said the electronics did not work - it was just one wire that was loose!) but I'm not sure it will show me as much as my main scope. I had wondered about using the go to mount for the larger scope but Celestron advised against this.

All help and advice will be gratefully received.

Mike :)

I had this problem the first time I tried finding M31. However I soon found the solution in stellarium (free stellarium software that you can download).

What you should really be looking for is the Andromeda constellation itself, which is itself attached to the Pegasus constellation. When you have identified the constellation, identify the star Mirach and then follow the three stars of the constellation upwards as they pretty much point to M31. Its easy to see what I mean when you've taken a good look at the stellarium software. :)

Hi,