NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Startrail Photo Anomaly

Dear All, Please help. I'm an amateur photgrapher and occasional stargazer. I took this photo of star trails (multiple images overlaid on top of each other) and found this "other" trail on it.

The photo was taken on the 6th March 2010 and this trail was on photos taken between 23:21-23:49. It is like a very short short living vapour trail becuase there is a slight overlap between the anomaly on each photo (photo is 30 seconds long with 10 seconds delay between each photo).

I've looked on the Heavens above Website to see if anything was in the sky at that time and found nothing. My position was 52.01320 - 1.09177 and the photo was takebn facing North (as if you needed telling that :))

I've attached the final image where the trial goes from right to left under the canopy of the tree and one of the single shots where you can see it just to the left of the tree.

Has anyone any ideas - please ?

Cheers

Sid

Gorgeous image, Sid. I really like the idea of having the trails broken up by tree branches. I'd like to find somewhere dark enough that pretty much the only light in the image is provided by the stars, so that the shape of a tree or other object is formed by the trails alone.

Hi Sid,

First up, a very warm welcome to the forum. :)

Lovely image. I really like the tree outlined against the star trails!

And yes, I think it looks like a contrail too.

Hello, chaps. Thank you very much for your compliments re. the photo - I'm waiting for the right conditions to do better.

However I'm not convinced on the plane contrail theory. My reasons are:-

1) The anomaly took 20 minutes to make this trail - seems to be moving quite slowly ?

2) For artisitic purposes ;-) I edited out other planes which covered about two shots and left a wonderful red and white dotted pattern of their flashing lights. This plane's lights were not visible.