Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How does a focal reducer work?

Zeffer

Go easy on me - my degree is in English! I can't get my head round how adding a focal reducer works.

Can anyone help? Is there some loss somewhere else? And loads of other questions I don't even know I should be asking?!

Thanks

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Zef,

Both Atik and Antares do an imaging only 0.6 focal reducer (same model, different badge) for around £20. It work OK, using it I can get the whole of the moon (theres a song in there somewhere) on the Toucam chip using a 100mm f5.

Gaz

Actually, the question was about focal reducers, which in their simplest terms are a Barlow that reduces the effective focal length, whereas a regular Barlow increases the focal length. The reducer has convex lens elements, the Barlow, concave ones.

With a DSLR you get so much vignetting with the Antares 1.25" FR that the useable bit covers a smaller field of view than you get without the focal reducer. You do get shorter exposure times so if you don't mind losing resolution you can just use the centre of the sensor and get more subs done in the time between the clouds.

The 2" version doesn't vignette nearly as much but I can't get the thing to focus on conventional 'scopes and the inward travel is so great with the Skelescope that I lose half the light cone by moving the secondary so much closer to the primary. (Anybody know of a really short 2" nosepiece? Mine is kind of stepped inside so I can't just saw the end off like the 1.25" one.)

Another thing to watch out for is focus travel. With a DSLR I can't get enough inwards travel on my 'scopes to get the FR to work, different matter with the webcams as they have the sensor closer to the FR lens thereby reducing the effect. With my webcam I have cut down a nosepiece to allow the FR to get closer to the chip and make it work.

HTH

Captain Chaos