Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help needed! What did I see with my own eyes?

Rousso

Hello to all that read this!

I'll get straight to the point, as an fan of most astronomy programs that I have time to see for the love of me Im a novice. As this is the case I'm not sure what I have just witnessed with my naked eye! I was looking up and the moon as I cant sleep (06:50GMT looked at my watch after I was sure I was not going to miss anything else) and I saw a bright flash just under the moon. I would say that the flash was close to Eta Crateris and Zeta Crateris!

What did I see? Was it a flare from a satellite as the sun is on its way up? Or did I see some kind of star activity? I have watched the programs and have learnt that things that go Bang (sorry for the layman term) are visible to the naked eye.

Details of event:

Bournemouth UK,

Latitude: 50.720405 / Longitude: -1.880916 (within 1000meters of my home),

Time 06:50 GMT,

Date. 10th Dec 2009.

Many regards

Tony.

Not sure what you saw, but at around 7 this morning I was walking the dog, looking up at the moon and I saw the ISS pass just under the moon.

Could it have been that?

Pass for my location ( Kent) was between 7am and 7:03 am, SSE to E

Allan

I have seen this effect quite frequently and there is a simple explanation. I live under a heavily used air corridor and at this time in the morning as the sun is rising, high flying aircraft which are often not visible, if they are in the right position between the observer and the sun, very briefly reflect light from some part of the fuselage. The result is very brief bright flash.

Richard