Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First telescope - Meade ETX 125 v Skywatcher Skymax 127

Hi there,

I'm new to astronomy and I'm looking for some advice on my first scope.

I live in London and want something that I can use for moon, planets and some DSO. I know light pollution is going to be bad, so portability is also a consideration.

I was lucky enough to try out a Meade ETX 90 yesterday and was very impressed with the results, and my budget would stretch to a ETX 125 which I guess is going have even better results. But I don't know if I'll get similar performance from a Skymax 127 if the apeture is so similar? If so, I can safe a few pennies on the Skywatcher over the Meade.

Any experience / assistance greatfully received!

Dug

Go for the Skymax or the celestron equivalent. The Meade ETX125, from my experience, has good optics, but unreliable mechanics and electrics. I had hours of frustration!

Whichever you get, get a powerpack to run it as these mounts are notoriously fussy about power input and so running on batteries is not realistic.

Helen

I would agree with Helen. I bought a ETX 125 but something gave on the very first align and resulting in a unhealthy rattling and no more slewing. I paid the extra and went for a Celestron CPC and am very happy with this choice. The CPC appears to be much more professional than the ETX with everything feeling better manufactured.

Trevor

Bit of a trend here! I had an ETX 125. Brilliant optics and the mount worked perfectly too, but, after upgrading the handset software, it woulndt point where I wanted. The supplier couldnt fix it ( I assume something else was faulty then as a software fix didnt help), so i swapped it.

Skywatcher seem to have everything under control, I would go for the Skymax 127

Allan