Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from the UK

CaptMo

First of all thank you for letting me join

I'm a complete newbe to this, I took some advice from a guy online and decided to go in with both feet. I bought a Skywatcher 150 PDS with a 2 inch 28mm lens also can take 1.25 inch with converter

It looks quite well built and Im currently learning how to use it

I also bought other bits and pieces, so I could use a Digital Camera, Mobile Phone and a  Collimation Laser

I went on line to learn how to Collimate the Telescope, I managed to get the laser nearly in the small ring of the rear mirror, and get the laser light in the center of the Laser Collimator

Armed with this I set up in the back garden to see if I could see the moon, although I found the moon moves quite fast, I was facinated to see the detail of the moon through the eye piece

I then decided to attach a Fuji x-t30 Digital Camera and take a few shots

I've attached a few below

I think the most difficult part was to focus the Telescope and keep track of the Moon using the control knobs

Over the last couple of month's our weather hasn't been very good

I'm currently trying out different Software to get the Base to work, so far that's been a problomatic

The Synscan controller operates the Telescope OK using the manual buttons on the hand set

Using a PC, I connected this to the Synscan unit using a wired USB  connection, I have installed the ASCOM, EQMOD and Stellarium Software

I have managed to get this to work somewhat, but I need a clear night to set everything up

I managed to find the north star Polaris, but have yet to point the Telescope at it due to the weather

In the house the telescope moves around under the control of the Windows  PC - laptop but sometimes not where you expect it to

Next decided to buy the WIFI dongle and plugged it in where the Synscan handset goes

I tried the Ipad first, I  loaded Stellarium, SynScan Pro and also SynScan Link