Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help with viewing mars

Hi I’ve got a eaconn  600 mm opticsl tube length in and 80 mmm length diameter what is the best eye piece fir me view mars in full detail  photo of scope attached I have a k 20mm which came with it and a k9mm 

image.jpg

This past summer I have been viewing Mars in my 8 inch dobsonian and even then, Mars was an underwhelming speck, an orange dot. Unfortunately Mars is not close enough in it’s orbit relative to earth for much detail to be seen, especially with 80mm of aperture. 

Edited by Sunshine
  • Like 4

Please talk to me like your talking to someone that has never used a telescope lol this is my first time . Is my telescope a good one it is itbaverage honest opinion plz 

• Like 1

Hello @Keaysy, if you are using it actively then is good enough for starters.Hubble it ain't then again mine is neither 😄 What it will make it a bit tricky is the 45 degree diagonal you seem to have, that is for land use as spotting scope, a 90 degree diagonal is better for astronomy.

What I think Sunshine is trying to tell you is that Mars is far away from Earth so not a good target. Did you try to look at Jupiter and Saturn? I usually use a 72mm scope and manage to see those nicely , bracket them with the 20 mm and then switch to the 9 mm for better detail. Don't expect too much details , just some very thin lines on Jupiter and the rings of Saturn - depending of the viewing quality you may see it as a blob with "ears"  or a bit better defined if it's good seeing.Also interesting and easy are the phases of Venus , you can find on the web when is 'half moon' or 'sickle' and look at it to see how an aparent round point (with naked eye) has a surprisingly different shape when saw by telescope. And of course, the Moon  🌙 is always a good subject.