Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Processing is hard lol

as per the title 🤣

I'm finding this processing lark rather frustrating. 

I don't know if it's because I am staring with garbage data, or I am just rubbish at processing it, but i can't seem to get a satisfying image.

Bare in mind i am extremely new to this and not working with the best equipment (az gti, canon 550D and 300mm f5.6 lens), target is M31

Anyway, i have a attached my fit file from siril and would greatly appreciate if anyone could have a go at a stretch and see what they can come up with or if there any obvious flaws in the data, i will post my result shortly.

Many thanks

Nick

andromeda forum.fit

Haven't got time to do anything right now, but might take a look tomorrow. First impression is that it's quite noisy, and you have a fair amount of "banding" type noise, which I think is common with DSLR / Canon cameras (although I'm no expert on that) - you can research that or someone will pipe up with a comment about how best to manage it.

Obvious first questions are:

1. How much integration time went in to this? 

2. What LP conditions were you shooting in, and were you using a filter of any sort?

2. Did you calibrate the subs (with darks, bias, flats...)?

• Like 1

53 minutes ago, Fegato said:

Haven't got time to do anything right now, but might take a look tomorrow. First impression is that it's quite noisy, and you have a fair amount of "banding" type noise, which I think is common with DSLR / Canon cameras (although I'm no expert on that) - you can research that or someone will pipe up with a comment about how best to manage it.

Obvious first questions are:

1. How much integration time went in to this? 

2. What LP conditions were you shooting in, and were you using a filter of any sort?

2. Did you calibrate the subs (with darks, bias, flats...)?

Thank you for the reply

This is I think 20 minutes of integration