Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first imaging rig issues

AstroDab3k

Hi everyone.
I'm very new to the hobby and had only few images with DSLR + Lens and Star Tracker.

I managed recently to purchase a nice new scope on a fairly good price from company TS-Optics. I've seen many good reviews about their refractors and apparently this is a rebranded Sharpstar with some minor changes.
Anyway I wonder whether I set this up correctly.  

It came originally as in below picture

gallery_472158_24237_980846.thumb.jpg.6753e27a3eb5413b6d14e2a97f628141.jpg

gallery_472158_24237_2598369.thumb.jpg.3eeef77594cb80243825dfe529f0f581.jpg

However to put flattener in place I had to remove the two elements above (which is a pity as I liked the red accent). There was no manual with the scope so I hope I fitted out out correctly. 

gallery_472158_24237_3319902.thumb.jpg.2a1654a03d6974b1d23ec94428c62199.jpg

Then I struggled to find place where to put 2" filter, and I had to disassemble flattener and put it in front of the glass. It was the only place, but I heard that it's always recommended to put it closer to the sensor, which in my case was not possible.

gallery_472158_24237_1554674.thumb.jpg.7dc6941a3bd89e72ab766a8f08c6b038.jpggallery_472158_24237_1660172.thumb.jpg.3732e5ae889d3bdc728819afcaf86c82.jpg

Then I had some old T2 ring adapter to canon DSLR which I used with my dobsonian reflector. It didn't fit straight away, but I noticed it has some small screws which were holding the inner ring. I removed it and et voilá it fits now the end of flattener.

I tested it yesterday and I found number of issues.

1. Flattener needs 55mm back focus, camera has 44mm and I thought that modified ring has 11mm (if I measure the thread/ entry to camera), but it seems I measured wrong as you can see on below picture, the stars are elongated from borders to center. If what I suspect is the case, I need to buy proper adapter.