Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Nirvana 13 or Explore Scientific 16?

Ags

I'm looking for an eyepiece to slot inbetween my ES 82° 6.7mm and ES 68° 20mm. I'm looking at either the Nirvana 82° 13mm or the ES 68° 16mm. I hear the ES 16 is very good, but the Nirvana 13 is a better spacing (not to mention the atractive price!).

I'd like to try the eyepiece in my f4 finderscope giving a 5.1° field with either eyepiece, but it would mostly be used on DSOs in my f5.6 refractor.

How about the ES 14mm 82 degrees? I upgraded to it after the 15mm BST and it is an excellent EP. I also use it, mostly, for DSOs. Good correction to the edge. As you already know from your 6.7, it has a tight eye relief. They are on Aliexpress for ~£125 so not that much more than the Nirvana (I have no experience with it). I personally like the wide FOV when I observe nebulas/galaxies as it gives the immersion feeling, plus less nudging of the Dob.

• Like 1

I have all the ES 82º series, however, I bought a 16mm Nirvana clone (Telescope Service) recently second hand to compare it with the TV 16mmT5 and to be honest the Nirvana clone compared equally well with the TV.  I would recommend the Nirvana to anyone.  The FLO price is also very competitive.

Edited by rwilkey
  • Like 2

2 hours ago, Kon said:

How about the ES 14mm 82 degrees?Good correction to the edge. As you already know from your 6.7, it has a tight eye relief.

I find the eye relief on the 6.7 just right for me, nice and snug but not too close.

7 minutes ago, rwilkey said:

I have all the ES 82º series, however, I bought a 16mm Nirvana clone (Telescope Service) recently second hand to compare it with the TV 16mmT5 and to be honest the Nirvana clone compared equally well with the TV, if a little lighter.  I would recommend the Nirvana to anyone.  The FLO price is also very competitive.