Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Processing help - is my data bad or is it me?

Would anyone mind seeing if they can pull anything from this data please?  I'd had a go but i'm hopeless with processing and I'd like to know if my data is any good or it's just me.  I'm expecting both are bad.  Shot with a 72ED and a Canon 550d.   4.5hrs of 60sec lights.  30min of darks.  

Bortle 6 location so a bit of light pollution here.  I suspect issues with DSLR.  Not sure if it needs a sensor clear but thinking of having it modified soon anyway.  Histogram 1/3rd from left. ISO 800. 

I'm still learning processing and have been playing with both photoshop and startools.  I can get something out of it but not anywhere near what I was expecting for 4.5hrs.  In fact I seem to get similar results from 30mins of data.  I'll keep plodding away and learning techniques but if the data is bad from the outset i'd need to start over. :)

thank you

Ray

Autosave2.tif

Thank you - looks a lot finer detail than i've managed to pull out so far. 

No I think LP filter is something I need to invest in whilst shooting from this location.   Possibly a clip in for the Canon. 

I have an old 1 1/4 CLS filter from an old system.  When I got the 72ED it's 2" straight through with a field flattener so would have trouble linking together. 

I appreciate i'm using some budget gear so definitely not expecting miracles :) Happy to see anything and learn what i'm doing wrong. 

• Like 1

3 hours ago, TerraC said:

In fact I seem to get similar results from 30mins of data.

It's always hard to tell because everyone's localised light pollution is different but it does seem like 4.5hrs should give you a touch more.

The focus looks a little soft, or could there have been high cloud and a lot of moisture during this night?  Did you have a dew heater on?

Was the data calibrated with Flats?