NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Something needs to be done!

OK Apricot

After all the blood sweat and curs... I mean tears, that have gone into building my retaining wall, clearing trees etc so I can image/observe from home, it's just occurred to me just how intrusive this bad boy is... 

20220813_215616.thumb.jpg.ad98206d27923b639609f98dfc6a0884.jpg

No special settings on the phone camera to snap this, just opened it and took the pic. You'd think I'd done a 10 second exposure! 

I'm after some inspiration from you guys, success and sob stories, about how you went about rectifying your situation. Obviously an email to the council is going to be the opener, but I'm a bit of a layman when it comes to laws, regulations and what not surrounding street lights and light intrusion. What sort of stance might be most effective? This is a low footfall area, low traffic area, my old van was broken into whilst parked right underneath it so it does nothing for security as far as I'm concerned. I believe it increases the chances my Mrs and I being burgled - "here's the front door, watch your step on the way down, look there's a jarred window"... Do you know what I mean? Am I just whinging here or? 

• Sad 2

Ask your council to fit the shade up there first, I asked my council here in Cornwall and had shades fitted to 2 streetlights that were causing me an issue, it was done with in a couple weeks. 

Say your streetlight is shining into your bedroom windows too. 

Lee 

Shielding will be the only effective option I think, so that will be going into the email. I'm just not sure how to approach it really. I feel like there should be some kind of environmental acts or laws quoted to give me a bit of strength 🤔

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, OK Apricot said: