Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Absolute Beginner - Telescope Advice Needed

Hello all. Great forum you have here.

I've been interested in pursuing this hobby for quite some time now but the abundance of possible telescopes is putting me off.. I'm hoping someone might spend a few minutes educating a total *newb* on what to buy..

I don't have a lot of money (I'm a student) so I've picked out a few on ebay that I can afford (about £50-70 which is about 80-100USD).. If they are all too cheap, useless and nasty please be honest :)

I'm not too worried about mobility or longevity of the product, but more about 'how much' I'll be able to see..

a) TELESCOPE NEWTONIAN, Reflector 76/700 XXL,StarScope on eBay, also, Telescopes, Binoculars Telescopes, Photography (end time 19-Apr-09 05:27:34 BST)

:DASTRO2000 TELESCOPE 76/700 REFELCTOR - NEW ! on eBay, also, Telescopes, Binoculars Telescopes, Photography (end time 22-Mar-09 21:15:00 GMT)

c) **** CELESTRON ASTROMASTER 76EQ TELESCOPE NEW **** on eBay, also, Telescopes, Binoculars Telescopes, Photography (end time 07-Apr-09 20:58:36 BST)

Any advice appreciated. Thanks :)

Jay

Jay, I may disappoint you with my answer, but If I was you, and a budget of that size, I would look for a decent second hand pair of 10x50 binoculars. To buy a scope that will be useful and not put you off astronomy for life, you should be looking to spend a bit more than you can spare at the moment.

Keep saving, and keep looking at astro For sale boards for a used six inch to eight inch reflecting telescopes that come up now and again. Please also remember, you will need eyepieces to go with a scope you buy.

Do not rush into any purchase. If you see something that appeals to you, come back and tell us about it, and we will advise you as to whether it will do a good job for you.

Ron.:)

Thanks for the punctual responses. Very good advice which I will take on board - I definitely won't rush into buying anything just yet.