Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

lets photograph Andromeda

hello all

i am a beginner to this

rather than ask 'whats the best setup to see Andromeda' and because i don't know how many pieces of equipment are required image, monitor (motorised stand) to take a photo

i'm asking - what do you recommend (on the cheap if possible) to get a decent photo of Andromeda?

i.e please can you list what is required, and an honest price/equipment recommendation?

might get pricey.....

Hi,

I'm no expert, but when I started a year and a half ago, I had a similar goal, and used the following equipment:

- Canon 600d (£200 2nd hand)

- Carl zeiss 135mm lens (£30)

- Tripod (£40)

- Intervalometer (£10)

- Skytracker (depends, star adventurer is about £250, I used a mechanical tracker which I picked up for £80 2nd hand).

This is what I got with the above equipment, not sure if it qualifies as decent🙈m31.thumb.jpg.d1f676e2dd0c56abe305f1ad0739b204.jpg

Be aware, since taking this photo I've spent a further £2k+, this hobby can be addictive and pricey!

• Like 14
  • Haha 1

Yes, that is about minimum equipment that you'll need.

Camera, lens, tripod, some sort of tracker.

It really does not need to be expensive if you go second hand / DIY route. DSLR can be found for very fair price second hand, and for star tracker - do internet search for "Barn door" tracker. It is very cheap DIY solution.

By the way - welcome to SGL.

• Like 1

22 hours ago, Daf1983 said:

Hi,

I'm no expert, but when I started a year and a half ago, I had a similar goal, and used the following equipment:

- Canon 600d (£200 2nd hand)

- Carl zeiss 135mm lens (£30)

- Tripod (£40)

- Intervalometer (£10)

- Skytracker (depends, star adventurer is about £250, I used a mechanical tracker which I picked up for £80 2nd hand).

This is what I got with the above equipment, not sure if it qualifies as decent🙈m31.thumb.jpg.d1f676e2dd0c56abe305f1ad0739b204.jpg