Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Bortle 4 now, but possibly moving to London. What would you do?

Hi all,

I've been loving astrophotography for the past two years, having moved from an AltAz mount with 130P scope, to guided NEQ6 with 130PDS and modded DSLR, recently started doing a bit of HaRGB too. Mostly DSO - nebulae, galaxies, clusters, but with occasional forays into solar system stuff. However, I may be moving from my nice Bortle 4 skies to London. I'm hoping this doesn't mean the end of my new-found hobby/obsession/passion/interest.

I'd be keen on staying in the OSC camp, simply because mono plus narrowband filters is very expensive and fiddlesome, from what I can see. It's two steps forward whereas I'd rather just take one.

I don't think the DSLR will hack it, so I'm considering upgrading to a cooled astrocam, probably something based on the 294 chip such as the Hypercam 294C Pro Tec, with a dualband filter such as the L-Extreme.

That's the plan anyway. But there are nagging doubts. Mainly:

• Am I on a hiding to nothing trying to do anything decent in London?
  • If it is possible, then would OSC with dualband work out, or is mono with narrowband the only way to go?
  • Finally, is it worth buying secondhand to make the pounds go further, or should I buy new, and get all the lovely warranties that come with it? Everything else I've bought is second-hand but the camera plus filter would be my most expensive purchase yet and I worry about getting something that dies on me after spending hundreds of pounds on it.

I keep going around these questions in my head and I need some external input!

Any/all comments welcome.

Thanks, Brendan

Edited by BrendanC

Tough one.

Many people image and post from cities using the lExtreme type of filters with excellent results for the circumstances.