SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Can someone evaluate my set-up?

Keep in mind I'm just a newbie who is just starting out so I'd love to hear perspective and input as far as what I still might need (or don't).

Here is my set-up:
Celestron TravelScope 70
Skywatcher AZ-GTi mount
Celestron 1.25-Inch Twist-Lock Dielectric Star Diagonal
Celestron 2.3mm X-Cel LX Eyepiece
Celestron 32 mm Omni Plossl Eyepiece
Celestron 8-24 mm Zoom Eyepiece
Celestron 1.25" 3x X-Cel LX Barlow Lens
Celestron Neutral Density Moon Filter

You'll quickly notice my general affinity towards the Celestron brand, as that it what I gravitated to when I first started researching this hobby a few months ago.  I'm generally a "brand" guy so if I find one that I'm comfortable with, I'll stick with that brand unless they don't make something particular or something else is just so outstanding it's worth buying from another manufacturer.

I know that I need a little red flashlight so that's incoming. I also just bought a DC battery pack for my mount so I don't have to run on batteries.  What I don't have is a case to keep all my eyepieces (I have the backpack Celestron sent me with the scope), and what I'm finding so far is that in the dark it is tough to either find my eyepieces as I try them all out and it's also difficult to remember what FOV each eyepiece has because it's not printed on the EP anywhere, so are those things I can easily mark down on each piece or should I make a little "cheat sheet" and always bring it with me until I remember it?

Thanks for the help so far on this site, I am finding everyone genuinely helpful and kind towards others, and that is a major catalyst for not scaring off those new to this hobby.

• Like 1