Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My first stacked image of the Moon

nfotis

From yesterday night, I experimented with my ASI462 and my Skymax 127 on a HEQ5 mount.

Recorded 4000 video frames, used 15% of the frames in the second quarter of images with Autostakkert!3. Used a ZWO IR pass filter, getting a reddish hue of the video/stacked image, then I used Levels in GIMP to bring up the green and blue channels (I kept the red as is).

The Youtube video shows the recording from the camera (I captured at 136-140 FPS on my Thinkpad T480, as RAW AVI video, so you should play it back as fast as possible, to get a sense of the air disturbances)

The resulting stacked and sharpened images from AS!3 are below, together with the colour corrected version (exported as JPEG files from GIMP).

Suggestions for improvement are welcome.

Cheers,

N.F.

00_11_36_l4_ap96.jpg

00_11_36_l4_ap96_conv_red.jpg

00_11_36_l4_ap96_conv.jpg

• Like 6

Thank you, I am still learning AS!3, I tried stacking some dSLR images (converted via PIPP to an AVI file), but I am getting mixed results.

How many pictures is a minimum to stack? Ten? Twenty?

N.F.

The point of stacking is in fact to reduce noise. software like autostakkert on top of that will also asses the quality and only use the best images for the stacksize you selected. Now, how many frames you need in a stack depends on the noise level in the single frames. The more noise in the frames the more you will need to reduce it.