Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A Complete Newbie Grateful for any advice on a newly acquired reflector telescope.

I have always had a wonderment and fascination of the cosmos and other sciences. However my 5 year old boy has shown and big interest also. We got him a cheap science fair telescope x20 (incase it was just a passing phase, I have used a large binoculars x40). We have been looking at the moon and constellations, books, documentaries and Star walk 2 full app. ect.

However I was offered this reflector telescope, stand and mount with various eye pieces some has threads inside and out, a barlow don't seem to have any lenses. it seems abit of a mishmash. The spotter scope only has a lense at one end with crosshairs, the mount seems to also include some sort of viewing scope. All this was offered for £50 I had to make a quick decision, but thought is was still a good deal to start with and add too, thought it was a good start. After some quick research before buying. Unfortunately on the outskirts of Lincolnshire all we have had is 98% cloud cover with rain for over a week. So haven't had a chance to even have a go yet.

I would like to finally add a Raspberry pi camera module for photography.

Any advice would be muchly appreciated.

Pete

IMG_20210203_133533.thumb.jpg.a86cd614f80cedf47bc8ad48b1749c60.jpg

IMG_20210203_133527.jpg

IMG_20210203_133538.jpg

IMG_20210203_133605.jpg

IMG_20210203_133636.jpg

IMG_20210203_134057.jpg

IMG_20210203_134101.jpg

IMG_20210203_134125.jpg

IMG_20210203_134132.jpg

IMG_20210203_134144.jpg

Hi it's a 150 scope on the old EQ3/2 mount mine was rock solid it has the polar scope fitted so that's a big win you can't get them and if you could there £50 can you do close up photos of the eyepieces and any writing on them so we can see what you have I know the video is not the mount you have but will still polar align the same way 

• Like 1