Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sharing first experiences. Advice and tips welcome!

Hello all,

I posted recently about getting my daughter a telescope and ended up going for the Celestron starsense explorer 130 (5 inch reflector). We went for this for ease using the starsense app which has been brilliant for my 7 year old to navigate the stars. I am a complete beginner by the way with no prior experience.

We have had a few ok ish nights but the tonight was by far the best. Up until now we have been using a Svbony 7-21 zoom eyepiece with a x2 Barlow permanently fitted. (Not sure if this is the best or correct way)

I went for the zoom eyepiece so my daughter didn’t have to keep changing lenses all the time which I thought could be a pain.

Tonight the conditions were perfect but the eyepiece kept getting a blurry spot in the middle. I presumed it was moisture from the air possibly? I opted to go for the Celestron supplied eyepieces which I have read on reviews are pretty awful. I must admit I hadn’t even used them until tonight.

My first thoughts using them......WOW. I am not saying they are amazing eyepieces because I’m sure they are the cheapest of the cheap but the views we got tonight with the 10mm& 25mm out perform the svbony by a mile in my opinion. The field of view is much wider too! I went back to all of the points of interest I had already viewed up until that point with the zoom lenses  and each an every one of them were far superior. We could see a distinct glow from Orions nebula which blew our minds! Me and my daughter are already looking forward to our next clear night.

I will definitely be looking to invest in individual eyepieces from now on. Even at entry level I’m surprised by the ones supplied by Celestron.